Setting up a mutual fund

CRK

14 Jun, 2009 02:53 AM

Hello

Being a total novice, can someone refer me to a book or article that would assist in setting up a mutual fund in MD. I have some statements but do not know how to enter these.

1. 1 Posted by John Selden on 14 Jun, 2009 04:18 PM

First, you create an investment account, which you do under the menus: Account > New Account. After you create the investment account, you have to add securities to the account (i.e., add all the mutual funds, etc., that you hold in the account). To do that, select the account from the home screen, and then go to the Securities Detail view. Click on "Add Security" and add each of the funds in which you have holdings.

Then you have to enter your holdings (i.e., the number of shares you hold in each fund). The most straightforward way to do that is to just manually enter all of the account transactions to date into the register.

If you have too many historical transactions to enter manually, and just want to start from your current balances, that's a different kettle of fish, but I won't go into that unless that is what you plan to do.

2. 2 Posted by CRK on 14 Jun, 2009 05:28 PM

Hi

Thanks for your reply. What I want to do is the different kettle of fish. I have a lot of old transactions and want to start from my current balance.

Your assistance is sincerely appreciated.

CRK

3. 3 Posted by John Selden on 16 Jun, 2009 12:02 AM

If you start from the current balance and don't enter all the historical transactions, then you won't be able to use Moneydance to track capital gains. This is true for all personal finance software, of course. This might be acceptable if, for example, the account is a tax-deferred account like a 401(k) where you don't have to worry about capital gains, or you just don't ever plan to track capital gains with Moneydance and instead rely on your brokerage to keep track of those for you, as I'm sure many people do.