New MD Accounts for Fidelity Investments

drewscurachio

01 Aug, 2009 10:58 PM

I am new to MD so the answer to my questions I hope are easy. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find much documentation on how MD works or how to use it. The Help Contents in MD is rather weak. So I hope I can get the answers from the discussion board.
I have 3 different accounts at Fidelity Investments. Each account has several different securities that I have purchased over the years. I have been able to direct connect to Fidelity. That was very easy (Thank you MD). But what gets downloaded are just transactions for the past month. When I connected to Fidelity and downloaded the transactions, the securities I have in my Fidelity account did get added to the list of securities. But none of the information about my purchases (# shares, cost basis, purchase date, etc) of the securities were downloaded. I have found no way to download the different securities in my portfolio in the 3 accounts. Is there a way to download the information Fidelity has on the securities in a Fidelity account?
To make things even more challenging I have not found a way to enter the securities manually into the Fidelity account I just created in MD. I entered a transaction into the register but it doesn't show up as being a part of my portfolio in MD.
Any help getting me started would be much appreciated.

Drew

1. 1 Posted by cwilson on 10 Sep, 2009 04:16 AM

Drew,

You mention these are historical securities, so purchase information isn't available as a transaction (most financial institutions only make the last 30 to 60 days available for download / online access.

What you need to do is enter a 'BUY' transaction into the register, giving the appropriate date, shares, and price per share (or just the Amount; MD will figure it out.) Then the securities will show up on the portfolio and securities details.

I'm just going through this exercise, account by account. . . .

Hope this helps,

--Chan