Using Moneydance on two computers with Git

tan.k.h

19 Apr, 2020 01:55 AM

Hi,

I am a newbie, having just bought Moneydance and transitioned my data from Quicken.
Because my wife and I both take part in our finances, I have Moneydance installed on both our computers, say PC1 and
PC2. That allows us to work independently.

To keep ourselves from tripping over each other, I created a repo in Github and cloned the home.moneydance data folder.
The moneydance data folder are in different locations, say PC1 c:/data/home.moneydance and PC2 d:/user/keep/home.moneydance.
When we update our finances, we push/pull to/from the repo.

I just found that even if I on PC1 did not make any changes, and just viewed the accounts, the fact that
my data location is different from PC2 keeps causing Git to detect differences in the binary files
( safe/settings, safe/tiksync/processed.data and safe/tiksync/trunk ).

Would a reasonable workaround be to keep the paths the same, eg c:/dta/home.moneydance on both PCs? Would this
be the only reason for the Git differences? If the name of computer etc are kept, then all bets are off because
the datafile would essentially be tied on one machine. Hopefully this is not the case.

As an aside, does Moneydance use some proprietary database or is the data in some flat directory of files?
I noticed many files were introduced when I make changes. Eg home.moneydance/safe/tiksynch/out/*.txn.

I am not using Moneydance's synching and sharing data because I prefer Git and its history mechanisms and we don't wish to learn another synch process. Hopefully this does not touch off any nerves!

I found a similar discussion posting called "Keeping Moneydance files in a Git repository" by Darrell Burk, Jan 26, 2020
but there were no answers to his questions.

Hope to hear from the development team and anyone whose use scenario is close enough to advice me.

Thanks in advance! Cheers and save distancing.

1. 1 Posted by derekkent23 on 19 Apr, 2020 09:22 AM