UK pension accounts

AE

11 Oct, 2016 12:11 AM

Hello

I have been trying to figure out how to represent pension accounts similar to those in the UK where a monthly contribution is made which is then invested by the pension management firm in a huge basket of funds - for a fee, of course, and every so often also with returns...

This is the model not only in the UK but also in other countries...

I saw a thread about this from 2010-2012 which was closed, which also said that an issue was raised about it:
http://help.infinitekind.com/discussions/general-questions/1299-how-to-represent-a-pension-investment-account/page/1
Has this been resolved yet by any chance?

As a newbie, I am confused as to the tradeoffs between defining this as an asset vs. defining it as an investment.

Thank you

1. 1 Posted by AE on 11 Oct, 2016 07:35 AM

Another important feature of these accounts is that they are not liquid before a given age (say. 65).

This is important to know because if I input them as an "Investment Account" with an initial balance of X, it will show up as cash in my Asset Allocations. Which it definitely is not.

Thanks

2. 2 Posted by dwg on 11 Oct, 2016 08:03 AM

This is not dissimilar to superannuation in Australia.

I personally believe that handling it as an investment is the best way to go,especially as provided it is well setup allows you to track performance etc.

It is also pretty common for these funds to be structured as a master fund, in other words you place money in a fund and it in then invests in other funds, usually these other funds are wholesale funds i,e, retail investors cannot directly invest in them they must invest via a master fund structure.

In my case one of the master trusts I am in allows you to select from a couple of hundred funds you could invest in., in my case last time I counted I was investing in 20+ odd funds.