Gather Investment/Security Transaction types and scenarios documentation here?

Ashley E

20 Jun, 2015 11:14 PM

I'm new to MoneyDance from Quicken (and MS Money before that). I'm trying to figure out how to best handle different investment (security) transactions. In trying to learn this, I can't find a place where all of the different investment transaction actions are listed with examples that show the specific fields that are used for each action (since it differs). Nor can I find a document that lists how to handle typical investment transaction scenarios. Is there a document -- a FAQ or something -- that has this information? It seems to be mostly scattered across discussion threads. That makes it hard for me as a newcomer to determine what is still accurate and what is out of date.

The User Guide has a short description of each action, but there are no examples and the descriptions are terse. (How is "Short" used, exactly? or "Cover"? When is approprate to use "MiscInc" or "MiscExp"? When is it not?)

Can a KB article be started so that this information exists in one official place, please?

Until then, can we use this discussion thread/topic to gather (1) Investment Transaction Types (ex: Buy, BuyXfer, etc.), and (2) Investment Transaction scenarios (ex: Transfer Securities between accounts, Rename a Security, Track Non-Residence Tax on Dividends, etc.) ?

If there is already a discussion/article/source for handling an investment transaction scenario, please link to it. For example:
Track Non-Residence Tax on Dividends how-to in this discussion http://help.infinitekind.com/discussions/investments/56-how-do-hand...

I am happy to try to organize the info as it develops and grows. (And as a s/ware engineer, this could augment any existing use-cases the development team has, and could certainly be folded into the next iteration of the user guide.)