Can't open my Moneydance document

Paul Evans

19 Jul, 2010 07:18 PM

I've seen this listed in your help chains, but ............

Moneydance IS listed in my Applications folder - and the documents ARE listed in my Documents folder.
And yet, when I try to open a Moneydance document, I get the message; "There is no default application specified to open the document Moneydance 03-26-10.md-2010-07-19".
I should add that I'm pretty new to the iMac.
Thank you in advance for your help,
Paul

1. 1 Posted by Ben Spencer on 19 Jul, 2010 08:46 PM

Hi Paul

Moneydance appends the date to the end of a file name when it creates a backup file. The file "Moneydance 03-26-10.md-2010-07-19" is the backup file made on 2010-07-19. You can open these backup files manually in Moneydance by renaming them to remove the date at the end. e.g. rename the file to "Moneydance 03-26-10.md". However you should already have a file called "Moneydance 03-26-10.md" somewhere that is likely newer than the backup file. I encourage you to search for a file called "Moneydance 03-26-10.md" The date in that file name must have been manually entered into the file name when you first saved it.

Ben Spencer
    Moneydance Support

2. 2 Posted by Michael Radclif... on 19 Jul, 2010 09:56 PM

Same problem but on Win 7. I just downloaded the upgrade, when I started the application, I am prompted to open an exiting file (or create a new one) However none of my existing files are listed in the directory where they do exist. It appears you need to go into the directory and append a .md to the existing file, then associate the file and then double click on it.
    I have been using the program for about a year. This is the second time I have basic simple problem with an upgrade. Do any of the developers test these with an existing file to make sure it is seamless before an upgrade is issued?

3. 3 Posted by Paul Evans on 19 Jul, 2010 10:35 PM

Hey Ben,You've always been helpful and I thank you.