Thoughts about preview versions, stability, and "just a user"...

dtd's Avatar

dtd

23 Feb, 2021 01:56 AM

just a user here, so my opinions are my own.

I have been guilty of this as well, so realize I'm talking to myself as much as anyone.

I think there has been too much liberality in recommending version 3034, because not every preview version is as excellent as that one.

In hindsight, 3034 should have become a stable release, relieving users (and staff) from continually recommending a preview.

And now, given today's release of 3037, which does not (yet) seem as excellent as 3034 (i.e. it's more a preview for the cautious), a lot of users who have been told "get the latest preview" - are doing just that, when they should not be doing so (yet).

And to compound the issue - earlier preview versions are not available, so not everyone can rollback to 3034 if they don't have it saved on their computer.

Just some thoughts by this (cautious) user. Thoughts appreciated. And it's about 2am in England.

  1. 1 Posted by pdd222 on 23 Feb, 2021 02:17 AM

    pdd222's Avatar

    Agreed. I just updated to 3037 and now it will not open my data file. Starting the program prompts me for the password to the data file and then nothing happens. The Moneydance name appears in the upper left corner (Mac) next to the Apple logo, but there are no menu items to the right. No way to open a file or do anything. I guess you could call this "dead ware."

  2. 2 Posted by pdd222 on 23 Feb, 2021 02:26 AM

    pdd222's Avatar

    P.S. You can still download 3034 on main web page. Don't use download link here or when the program starts ... 3034 is still downloadable here (thankfully) ...

  3. 3 Posted by dtd on 23 Feb, 2021 03:33 AM

    dtd's Avatar

    Good find, as not everything gets updated immediately - can you provide a specific link to where someone could get 3034? I already have it from my download folder for mac.

    The pdf is a clue, but a specific url would be great (before it is "updated")

  4. 4 Posted by pdd222 on 23 Feb, 2021 04:30 AM

    pdd222's Avatar

    I downloaded 3034 from here about two hours ago:

    https://infinitekind.com/moneydance

    I think the beta version only comes when you update from within the app itself when it alerts you that an update is available. Also, I think there are links somewhere on these support pages to the beta versions. From now on, I'm skipping the Betas! There is also a URL where you can download past versions: https://infinitekind.com/previous-versions-of-moneydance.

  5. 5 Posted by dwg on 23 Feb, 2021 05:30 AM

    dwg's Avatar

    I'm a fellow user.

    A beta should not be a general recommendation at any time.

    We have a situation where Build 2006 has known problems, so there should have been a later version promoted, with what I know of the preview builds 2008 or 2009 should probably have been made stable. With the known problems that are coming up there has been little choice but to recommend 3034.

    TIK did not make the right call here, I can however understand the sequence of events that allowed 2006 to remain the stable release.

  6. 6 Posted by dtd on 23 Feb, 2021 05:36 AM

    dtd's Avatar

    So do I. I'm just lamenting the concept of not doing better, and the repercussions thereof.

  7. 7 Posted by dwg on 23 Feb, 2021 06:03 AM

    dwg's Avatar

    I've been saying for a while that support needs to lift their game, so many issues come back to customer support. For some things it is just a matter of communication and TIK is pretty poor at this.

    I'd love to see a lot of changes alas many of them are difficult in a small company, they do not have an army, small staff most wearing multiple hats. For example there should be a test plan that all new releases have to go through even if they are a beta. If such a doc had been create when Moneydance was first created and be added to over subsequent release there could be good Q&A testing today.

    I've done some experiments to see what it would take to create some more thorough documents, again over time it is certainly doable, even in a small company, after all I'm just an individual and what I have created shows the possibilities, it is more a matter of seeing documentation as something that lives and you add to as you go along.

    The measures though need the desire to improve all aspects within TIK, the willingness and application and of course the drive.

  8. 8 Posted by derekkent23 on 23 Feb, 2021 09:20 AM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user.

    Paraphrasing Sean, build 3037 Windows/Linux issue should be fixed in build 3038 and Mac issue in build 3039, if all goes well.

    Hope this helps.

  9. 9 Posted by derekkent23 on 23 Feb, 2021 12:06 PM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user.

    All did not go well so now its 3039 for Windows/Linux then 3040 for Mac

    Hope this helps

  10. 10 Posted by dwg on 23 Feb, 2021 08:33 PM

    dwg's Avatar

    The problems with 3037 highlight my point about Q & A testing of every release. Q&A will never catch every problem but it will catch many.

  11. 11 Posted by dtd on 24 Feb, 2021 12:47 AM

    dtd's Avatar

    And unless you want to help testing (many do, thank them all), I'd stick with 3034 if you can.

Reply to this discussion

Internal reply

Formatting help / Preview (switch to plain text) No formatting (switch to Markdown)

Attaching KB article:

»

Attached Files

You can attach files up to 10MB

If you don't have an account yet, we need to confirm you're human and not a machine trying to post spam.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac