Cannot connect to my bank

Brock

10 Nov, 2015 01:26 AM

Hello, I am new to Moneydance. I have imported data from quicken essentials for Mac. However, while trying to setup my account for online banking, it fails to login into my bank. Part of the confusion: I do not understand how to enter both a password and a PIN. Moneydance prompts me to enter "Password/PIN". What does that mean? Enter both on the same line? Enter just the password? Neither? Please help.

Thanks,
Brock

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Jenny on 10 Nov, 2015 02:58 PM

Hi Brock,

Have you previously contacted your financial institution to activate direct connections?

Application-based online banking often requires a different login/PIN than the ones that are used for ATM or web-based banking. When you enable your account for access from Moneydance or Quicken, your financial institution should let you know what customer ID/login and PIN to use.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance, and thanks for your interest in Moneydance!

Jenny
    Infinite Kind Support

2. 2 Posted by Brock on 10 Nov, 2015 03:29 PM

Hello Jenny,

Why would I need to do that? It was just working perfectly fine 15 minutes before I installed Moneydance - as I was backing things up in Quicken Essentials and I had synced with my bank one last time. Clearly, direct connections are activated.

When I try to configure my account for online banking it says it cannot connect. And as I mentioned in my previous post, part of the confusion is that I know I have to pass both a password AND a PIN to my bank. I do not see how that would happen in Moneydance - as there is only one entry for Password/PIN.

Brock

3. 3 Posted by David Hanley on 10 Nov, 2015 04:10 PM

Hi Brock,