Categories Totalling Subcategories

Jesse Geiger

24 Sep, 2015 10:09 PM

Hello,
Hello, I'm new to MoneyDance
I'm wondering if this is something that I'm missing or if it's something not included in the most recent Money Dance build for Windows but it seems that my subcategories are not totaling into their parent categories for my budget. Example, I have a $100 Shopping Budget but if I enter $20 in Shopping:Music then that cost is not counted against my parent category budget. Is there something I need to turn on for this? I'm surprised if this isn't included.

Separately, it seems that the Mac build may have a bit more functionality like working status bars for amount spent against a budget. Is that true? I'm basing this statement off of the marketing screenshots vs what is happening on my version.

Any help would be appreciated.
Jesse

1. 1 Posted by Ian L on 29 Sep, 2015 07:58 PM

Hi Jesse,

Could you send me the contents of your Moneydance console? I need this to verify the version you are using. Here's how to get the logs:

1. In Moneydance, click on the Help menu and select the Console Window option. This will open the console messages window.
    2. In the console Window, Click the Copy to Clipboard button at the bottom to copy the text in the console.
    3. Paste the text from the message window into a text file (preferably saved with a .txt or .rtf extension) and attach that file to your response here.

Ian
    Infinite Kind Support

2. 2 Posted by Jesse Geiger on 29 Sep, 2015 09:35 PM

3. 3 Posted by Ian L on 30 Sep, 2015 02:04 PM

Can you try upgrading to the latest version of Moneydance from here:

http://infinitekind.com/downloads

and see if that fixes the issue that you're seeing?

Ian
    Infinite Kind Support

4. 4 Posted by Jesse Geiger on 30 Sep, 2015 03:19 PM