Can't copy budget from previous month

David Misenheimer

09 May, 2016 11:12 AM

I am new to Moneydance and am trying to set up a monthly budget. I created a budget for January 2016 and would like to copy it to the following months. I am having 2 problems. First, Moneydance is very slow when I do something like click to move to the next month. It takes about one minute to display the next month. Secondly, when I right click on the current month so that I can set up the budget I don't get the drop down selections. I am using version 2015.6 (1299). My PC is 64-bit and is running Windows 7 Professional.

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Jenny on 09 May, 2016 12:29 PM

Hi David,

The latest stable version of Moneydance is 2015.7, so if you're running an older version you can download this from here. This version includes some updates to the budget performance.

Can you let me know the budget type you're using? There are two budget formats available within Moneydance, the 'newer format' and the 'mixed interval/older' format.
    When creating a budget, selecting Weekly, Monthly etc will create a newer format budget which you can read more about here.
    Selecting 'Mixed Interval' when creating will use the older style budget where categories can be added with differing time intervals. You can read more about this budget type here.

If you can let me know the budget type you're currently using, (and would like to use) then I can provide instructions for getting setup, and we can work through the issues you've encountered.

Jenny
    Infinite Kind Support

2. 2 Posted by David Misenheim... on 09 May, 2016 02:46 PM

Jenny - I updated my Moneydance to the latest version (2015.7). The software is still very slow to respond. I want to use the newer format budget - monthly type. I created some budget items for January 2016, but when I right click on February 2016 to attempt to copy the budget amounts from January, I don't get any drop down choices.