Initial Balance in Categories

Dee

17 May, 2016 09:24 PM

Though I've been using Moneydance for a couple months I'm still learning how to keep the books on software rather than a spreadsheet. I've made a few mistakes and now I'm trying to get those corrected.
  I have bank accounts and budget categories. I told Moneydance how much to budget for each category and it is keeping a running total of what is spent. So far so good. But--some of the categories had money in them left over from last year. I don't want to lose track of which categories the funds belong to. Starting with a zero balance in each category gives a distorted view and leaves money in bank accounts that isn't attached to the budget. How do I get the carried-over funds into the categories, not just into the correct bank account?
  Thanks for your help and support. I'm a fan of Moneydance and spread the word at every opportunity.

1. 1 Posted by -Kevin N. on 18 May, 2016 02:26 PM

Hi Dee,

If I understand you correctly, you can rollover the remainder of the previous budget period by clicking on the down-arrow next to the Budget Date Range, then select 'Copy and rollover previous period'. (see screenshot)

HTH -Kevin N.

2. 2 Posted by d. p. on 18 May, 2016 06:27 PM

Ah, that's terrific for the second year, but this is my first year with Moneydance. The previous budget period is on a spreadsheet Moneydance doesn't know about. Any hope of inputting the amounts I want to carry over from the spreadsheet? Thanks.

To: [email blocked]
     Sent: Wednesday, May 18, 2016 10:27 AM
     Subject: Re: Initial Balance in Categories [Budgeting #705]

#yiv9440862345 pre {width:92%;margin:10px 2%;padding:5px 2%;background:#efefef;border:1px solid #d6d6d6;}#yiv9440862345 blockquote {margin-left:0;padding-left:1em;border-left:5px solid #ccc;}

3. 3 Posted by -Kevin N. on 18 May, 2016 07:47 PM

Hi Dee,

I have to confess that I'm not a big 'Budget' guy so I might not be the best to answer your query.