Totally Confusing Setup

Rick Moerloos

12 Mar, 2016 04:23 PM

I have been using Quicken 2016 Mac for the past 2 months. It keeps trashing my automatic payments and support is terrible. I bought Moneydance and it prompted me to set up a new account when first opened. I did that. It took me like 5 minutes to figure out why the Online menu items were disabled. I selected the Checking account and then the Online menu items became enabled. I then chose Setup Online Banking. It prompted me for my bank, Boeing Employee's Credit Union, asked for the account, routing, and customer id. Then it said it had everything it needed to contact my bank. When I click on the Download All Accounts menu item, it says there's nothing to download. This software is so confusing, so I'm hoping your support is far better than Quicken.

1. 1 Posted by David Hanley on 12 Mar, 2016 06:03 PM

Hi Rick,

Sorry to hear that you've been unable to establish the connection. Could you send me the contents of your error console?  Here's how to get the logs:

1)  In Moneydance, click on the Help menu and select the Console Window option.  This will open the console messages window.
    2) While the Console Window is open, attempt to connect to your bank.  Any error messages should be recorded to the Console.
    3) Select all of the text in the Console and use the "Copy to Clipboard" button at the bottom to copy the text.
    4) Paste the text from the message window into a text file (preferably saved with a .txt extension) and attach that file to your response here.

The debugging logs that this produces will contain your account information.  I've made sure that this conversation is private, so the info won't be broadcast to the world, but just to be safe you should redact any account info in the debug logs.  Just replace it with something like "ACCOUNT NUMBER HERE" and it should be fine.

Thanks!

David Hanley
    Infinite Kind Support

2. 2 Posted by Rick Moerloos on 13 Mar, 2016 12:52 AM

Hi David,