Lost Moneydance data on desktop and new laptop

harwoodmd

19 Dec, 2018 01:20 AM

I have been using Moneydance successfully for several years on my iMac (now with OS 10.14.2), and syncing with my iPhone and iPad. I recently bought a MacBook Air 2017, with OS 10.13.6. I downloaded Moneydance to the MBAir, and saw the Welcome to Moneydance page. There was no request for my key. I went back to my iMac to find my data folder, which I did with some online help (right-click Moneydance title bar, click on Container). It contained the Personal Finances.moneydance file, which contained several megabytes of data. I then copied the folder and put it into Dropbox, in order to transfer it to my new computer. The Dropbox upload looks complete (green check by Data folder on both computers), but the Dropbox icons say that it's still uploading on the old computer and downloading on the new computer and will take several more hours. I decided that maybe the transfer would be faster through iCloud, so I went back to re-open Moneydance to access the data file on the old computer, and I got the Welcome page instead of the program, as if I had newly downloaded it. I don't know where my data files are. I looked at the Personal Finances.moneydance file in Dropbox on both computers, and it now contains only 16 bytes--it's just an alias. My data on my iPhone and iPad seem to be intact, and they still sync between each other. Where did my data go, and can I get it back onto Moneydance on my computers?

1. 1 Posted by sth on 19 Dec, 2018 03:50 AM

Wow, Not sure where you data is. You have been doing a bunch of things without letting them complete etc.

If you want to sync the Air with the iMac then you make one the primary (I assume the iMac) and the Air be a secondary. Turn on syncing on the iMac (use Dropbox folder method) and then on the Air open File->New from sync file.

I think manually moving things to dropbox will remove them from your iMac.