Preview version 1891 seems to have broken register date sorting

iandarkwater's Avatar

iandarkwater

22 Oct, 2019 12:30 PM

As per the title. I updated. My register was in date descending. I clicked on date to change to ascending which happened but now date sorting seems frozen. Neither clicking on the date header or via the right click menu will change date sorting back to descending. This is true for all my registers.
Help please!

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Maddy on 22 Oct, 2019 03:27 PM

    Maddy's Avatar

    Hi Ian,

    We are sorry to hear about the problem you have encountered.

    Can you let me know which operating system you're running on your computer/s?

    Is there any particular reason why you are running the preview version instead of the latest stable Moneydance 2019.3 (1880)?

    Did you try uninstalling and re-installing it already?

    --
    Maddy, Infinite Kind Support

  2. 2 Posted by derekkent23 on 22 Oct, 2019 03:54 PM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user
    Hi Maddy

    A number of Windows 10 and Mac users have reported this issue when using preview build 1891 on Sean’s Slack site.

    Also Sort By Date/Amount no longer seems to work in 1891.

  3. 3 Posted by iandarkwater on 22 Oct, 2019 06:16 PM

    iandarkwater's Avatar

    Hi Maddy
    I'm running Win 10 fully updated.
    I'm running the preview version because I like new things & I have absolutely no patience.
    I haven't tried uninstalling/reinstalling & in the light of Derek's info it probably wouldn't help to do so.
    My registers seem to be locked on to 'sort by date/amount'. At least that's what's immovably selected in the rightclick/sort selector.
    Regards
    Ian

  4. 4 Posted by derekkent23 on 22 Oct, 2019 07:27 PM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user

    This is the response by Sean on this subject.

    "thanks for the feedback re sort order and Amex connection problems in 1891! I believe I've just fixed both and will have build 1892 available in a few hours."

    Sounds good.

  5. 5 Posted by iandarkwater on 22 Oct, 2019 08:20 PM

    iandarkwater's Avatar

    Hi Derek
    Many thanks for the update.
    Regards
    Ian

  6. 6 Posted by derekkent23 on 23 Oct, 2019 02:35 PM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user

    Sean has fixed Amex issue as well as register heading arrows toggling to change between Ascending and Descending. BUT right click Sort By Date/Amount is still not working. Works in 1888.
    Reported.

  7. 7 Posted by Jens on 02 Nov, 2019 11:59 AM

    Jens's Avatar

    I've noticed some occasional odd sorting by date in 1892: It looks like that items with a blank C column (= Uncleared) are pushed to the top above Reconciling/Cleared ones, regardless of their date. I haven't had time yet to come up with a standalone example to proof and show this, but maybe that hint is enough for support and developer team to follow up.

    Jens

  8. 8 Posted by derekkent23 on 15 Nov, 2019 07:44 PM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user

    Just to note, Sean has fixed the right click Sort By Date/Amount bug with the release of preview build 1893

    Hope this helps

  9. 9 Posted by iandarkwater on 16 Nov, 2019 03:03 PM

    iandarkwater's Avatar

    Hi Derek
    Thanks for the heads up. Yes & no is the response. The sorting seems to work but now the running balance shown in the register is very wrong & weird! The current balances shown in the left hand bar & at the register foot seems correct but not that in the register itself.
    I seem to have lost many tens of thousands of pounds!
    A work in progress it seems.
    Regards
    Ian

  10. 10 Posted by derekkent23 on 16 Nov, 2019 03:46 PM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user
    Hi, Ian

    Very strange, my 1893 is working perfectly, on my windows 10.
    Which right click sort by are you using?
    Have you change it to another sort by and back again?
    Have you closed Moneydance and opened it again.
    Are you syncing to another device, if so what and what syncing method?

  11. 11 Posted by iandarkwater on 16 Nov, 2019 08:46 PM

    iandarkwater's Avatar

    Hi Derek
    It is strange
    The sort I'm currently using is date/amount & I was using that & then to try out 1893 I changed to date & then back & then noticed the anomaly.
    I have tried other sorts & have shut MD down & restarted. No change.
    I've opened a completely separate MD file & the problem is there too.
    I'm on my desktop & I am syncing to my laptop using Dropbox folder method tho' the laptop has been shutdown since last Monday.
    I'm currently looking at an account where the current balance in the left hand bar is £4166.59; the in-register balance is -£1770.45 & the balance at the foot of the register is £2449.14. The account opening balance is 0.00.
    Very strange!

  12. 12 Posted by derekkent23 on 16 Nov, 2019 09:45 PM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user.
    Hi Ian

    Very Strange indeed.

    I tried a different data set with 1893 and that is OK as well.
    I tried different sort methods and they all work including date/amount.

    There is an issue with balances if you have both synced computers open at the same time. This has been around all the way back to 2019.3 and probably before. If you make a change on one computer with Moneydance open on the other synced computer, when the other computer syncs occasionally some of the balances are way out. This can happen in the side bar, summary page or in an account register. For the last two changing between the summary page and an account corrects the values. In the side bar removing any account correct the problem. All are corrected if you close and re-open Moneydance.
    Taking to Sean the software developer he thinks it’s a screen refresh issue after a sync. He is working on a fix.

    Having said all that, it does not sound like it’s the issue you are seeing.

    I assume if you go back to 1892 all works again, except sort by date/amount give the same results as date?
    If this is the case and if you re-install 1893 and still have problems, I will post a link to the thread to Sean and hopefully he will take a look.

    Hope this helps.

  13. 13 Posted by iandarkwater on 17 Nov, 2019 09:14 AM

    iandarkwater's Avatar

    Hi Derek
    As you guessed going back to 1892 resolves the issue. Returning to 1893 & there it is again.
    I have returned to 1892 & will await developments.
    Thanks again for your interest & help.
    Regards
    Ian

  14. 14 Posted by derekkent23 on 17 Nov, 2019 09:34 AM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user.
    Hi Ian

    I have posted a link to Sean, hopefully he will take a look.

  15. 15 Posted by iandarkwater on 17 Nov, 2019 09:36 AM

    iandarkwater's Avatar

    Thanks Derek.

  16. 16 Posted by derekkent23 on 18 Nov, 2019 07:46 PM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user.
    Hi Ian

    1893. If you use ascending, new transactions at the top there is an issue with balances. Descending works OK. Set under right click. I Sean has acknowledged the issue and is working on a fix.

    Hope this helps.

  17. 17 Posted by iandarkwater on 18 Nov, 2019 09:02 PM

    iandarkwater's Avatar

    Hi Derek
    That's it! I'm using ascending. I'm relieved I'm not cracking up. Thanks for letting me know.
    Regards
    Ian

  18. 18 Posted by derekkent23 on 18 Nov, 2019 10:09 PM

    derekkent23's Avatar

    I am not support staff, just a user.
    Hi Ian

     1894 preview build released. Sort by Date and sort by Date\Amount now working for ascending

    Hope this helps.

  19. 19 Posted by iandarkwater on 19 Nov, 2019 01:54 PM

    iandarkwater's Avatar

    Hi Derek
    Thanks for letting me know. 1894 seems to be working properly.
    Regards
    Ian

  20. iandarkwater closed this discussion on 19 Nov, 2019 03:13 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac