Moneydance calculating bank balance in incorrect order

Christopher

23 Jan, 2020 05:02 AM

Hello,

I have been using Moneydance for a few months now and I enjoy it, however - I have come across a problem.

I use Money Foresight extension to plot a graph of my projected bank balance based on transactions and reminders. Recently I went into the red because the minimum balance was actually higher than the real bank balance - and there was no difference in the transactions in both my bank and Moneydance.

I have done some digging, and come to the conclusion that the 'Current Balance' that is calculated at the beginning of Money Foresight's projection is calculated in chronological order, which is incorrect, as real life transactions do not reconcile in this order!

If I have the following transactions, and an initial balance of 100.00, consider that my 'balance' column is not reflecting the actual reconciled balance of the bank, and therefore reporting incorrect balances:

January 1 (Cleared) 123 Deposit = 223.00
January 10 (Reconciling) 100 Payment = 123.00
January 10 (Uncleared) 50 Deposit = 173.00
January 15 (Cleared) 1000 Deposit = 1173.00

Now if I filter by Uncleared transactions, I see the following:

January 10 (Reconciling) 100 Payment = 123.00
January 10 (Uncleared) 50 Payment = 173.00

Moneydance SHOULD be showing the reconciled balance of initial balance + cleared (100 + 123 + 1000) = $1223 and then calculating the 'current balance' after that. The correct balance should be $1073. This is my reconciled $1223 less 100 less 50. Instead, Moneydance would display $173.00 because it is calculating the transactions in chronological order.