Categories

quiversky

14 Jul, 2020 09:58 AM

I've read similar discussions on this issue but they're all closed so I thought I'd start over. I've been using Moneydance for 6 years. 2 of those were in Canada and then I moved to Australia. My old accounts are in CAD and my new accounts are in AUD. Since categories are set to specific currencies, I have to maintain two sets of categories - one for Canadian accounts and one for Australian accounts.

However, I've noticed that some of the categories are in the wrong currency. The main category for example, "CA Expenses" is in the correct CAD, but the the subcategory, "Cash" is in AUD (by default since my default currency is AUD).

Two problems with this:

1. The currency selector for CA Expenses/Cash is in AUD and greyed out because there are transactions. I submit that preventing users from changing the currency a category with transactions is wrong. What would be better is to ask for confirmation (like when changing a reconciled transaction).

2. Why would you allow categories and subcategories to be in different currencies? If the main category (eg CA Expenses) is in CAD, shouldn't all the subcategories be in CAD as well? Since my default currency is AUD, every time I try to create a subcategory of a Canadian category, it defaults to AUD. If you maintain that categories and subcategories should be allowed to be in different currencies, at least default the new subcategory to its parent category. This would save a lot of time. But I still think that subcategories should be locked to the currency of their parent.