Corrupted display whenever trying to enter new transactions

Peter L Dowson

29 Aug, 2020 12:54 PM

I've been using MoneyDance for several years with no problems. then the PC i was using crashed irrecoverably (hardware problems), so I installed MoneyDance on a new PC and obtained my account data from an archive.
   It all seems to work fine EXCEPT on this PC, when I enter new transaction data at the bottom of the account display, all sorts of other text appears, from elsewhere, and stops me seeing the fields in which I enter the details. I can manage by intelligent guess work as to where to type, but it is difficult and very slow going.
   This PC is different from the last in that it runs Win10. That's all.
   I tried re-installing Moneydance, and updating my nVidia video drivers, to no avail.
   All other programs on the same PC have no problems at all -- the problem is something to do with how Moneydance deals with its displays.
   Can you help, please? (I append a picture of the typical mess i am trying to work through).

Thank you
Peter Dowson

Showing page 2 out of 2. View the first page

1. 31 Posted by Peter Dowson on 04 Sep, 2020 09:43 AM

Hi dwg,

Just tried Moneydance under Win10 2004 and the nVidia driver it installed for itself. Same problems unfortunately.
    There is a java for browsers, but no this is a programming language that is being used here. You cannot uninstalled it , it is not actually installed but the required Java version is bundled with Moneydance and is installed as part of the Moneydance installation into a private directory.
    Ah, so I can't try to 'fix' Java. I've tried different video drivers AND a Windows update. Rather running out of options!
    I have just checked and the latest build 1928 is using an updated version of Java:
    They're up to 1928 already? I only downloaded and updated mine about a week ago -- it's 1919. i'll try updating.