Four Questions / Problems From a Newbie

steve

10 Jan, 2010 08:19 PM

While I am new to Moneydance, I have used personal finance software since the mid-80's - first Managing Your Money and then Money. With the demise of Money and my purchase of a Mac 2 years ago, I am moving to Moneydance. Since my past data structure was dated and I have had disastrous results trying to import data files in the past, I have elected to rebuild everything from scratch with a starting point for bank accounts of the last date that statements reconciled, but full history on investments (a lot of work). So, if you will pardon the pun, I am heavily "invested" in Moneydance. My methodology is to run Moneydance and Money in the same Windows partition of my Mac until I have recreated everything I need from Money and then move the data file to the Mac partiition to run in Moneydance there. Mac OS is Snow Leopard, Windows is Vista and I'm using Moneydance 2010.
Problem #1: As soon as installed Moneydance in Windows, I could no longer do Web downloads into Money. Internet Explorer could only download the B of A transactions as a Moneydance file. Nice for Moneydance, but not so nice if you're trying to run the two apps in parallel doing double entry for a while.
Problem #2: As mentioned before, all investment security transaction are being re-entered from original purchase date. I am entering the purchases as "BuyXFr" and the category as "Initial Holdings" as is suggested elsewhere on this site. But what about historical dividends, interest payments and dividend reinvests? If I use the "BuyXfr" action and "Initial Holdings" category, won't it distort financial performance information in Moneydance for each security? It seems these are to be used only for historical security purchases