Keep having to input license

Joanna Kelly

26 May, 2022 07:06 AM

Hi
I've been using Moneydance since 2018 with no problem until now. Each time I switch on my laptop and try and open MoneyDance it comes on screen as though I'm just setting it up as a new thing. Then when I manage to open up an archive copy it appears to be a trial version even though all my information is there and up to date from the last time I input stuff. Then I have to re-enter my license each time. I'm been using the same laptop the whole time. Please advise as I'm worried the whole lot might disappear at some point!
Thank you!

1. 1 Posted by dwg on 26 May, 2022 08:16 AM

I'm a fellow user.

I suspect there is a problem with your configuration file, this would give the problem you describe. To test this your would rename the existing file and allow the Moneydance to create a new one. The file is called config.dict.

If you're using a Mac, it should be located at one of these locations within your Home folder:

~/Library/Containers/Moneydance/Data/Library/Application Support/Moneydance/config.dict
    or:

~/Library/Containers/com.infinitekind.MoneydanceOSX/Data/Library/Application Support/Moneydance/config.dict

or:

~/Library/Application Support/Moneydance/config.dict

If you have any trouble finding your Home Library folder you can open Finder and hold down the option key while selecting the Go menu and the Library folder option should occur or you can open Finder and select Go -> Go to Folder and copy and paste in the following:

~/Library

This should pull up your local Library folder.

If you're using Windows, it should be located under your login directory at:

C:\Users\(yourusername)\.moneydance\config.dict

or

C:\Documents and Settings\(yourusername)\.moneydance\config.dict

Depending on your version of Windows

If you're using Linux it should be located in your home folder at:
    ~/.moneydance/config.dict