Q) How to turn sync off for both primary and secondary files

tan.k.h's Avatar

tan.k.h

29 May, 2022 04:29 AM

I have a Moneydance file on a primary PC which I synced via shared folders with a secondary PC.
For simplicity, I will refer to the two files as Primary and Secondary. After some problems in usage,
I decided to stop syncing and use the Secondary moneydance going forward.

So, I would like to turn off syncing and allow each file to be used separately. ( In my case, I will delete the Primary and just continue with the Secondary).
For the Primary file, I am able to select File/Syncing and set the Sync Method to "Don't Sync".
For the Secondary file, when I select File/Syncing, the dialog shows Sync Method as Shared Folder but it is grayed out and I cannot reset it to "Don't Sync".

Is it not possible to turn off syncing on a Secondary file?

  1. 1 Posted by Stuart Beesley ... on 29 May, 2022 07:04 AM

    Stuart Beesley (Mr Toolbox)'s Avatar

    Yes, run toolbox, advanced mode. Force reset sync settings...
    I would also suggest you use toolbox to promote this secondary file to a primary file...

  2. 2 Posted by dwg on 29 May, 2022 07:49 AM

    dwg's Avatar

    I'm a fellow user.

    Let me expand a little.

    When you set up syncing a flag is set in the file to indicate if it is the primary or if it is a secondary data set. A flag is also set to indicate that it is a synced file and the file also contains the syncing set up information.

    Moneydance itself only permits you to disable syncing on the master. In the normal course of operations it is not expected you would be doing any changes from the secondary.

    The Force reset sync settings in Toolbox turns off the syncing flag this disabling syncing. what this does is gives you a data set that is a secondary standalone data set. The promote this secondary file to a primary file option changes it to a primary standalone data set which is what is needed if you want to set up syncing again.

    What Toolbox is doing is that it takes a wide range of utilities and packages them in one extension.

    Before toolbox if we were in a situation where we needed to work with a secondary data set what we would do is to backup and restore the data set - this turns off the syncing, then we would use a python script to change the data set from secondary to primary

  3. 3 Posted by tan.k.h on 29 May, 2022 05:50 PM

    tan.k.h's Avatar

    Hi dwg,
    Thanks for your reply.

    I am reading your line as :
    To promote this secondary file to a primary, file option changes it to a primary standalone data set, which is what is needed if you want to set up syncing again.

    Where is the file option to be selected? On the secondary, I only see a File/Syncing menu and that only allows me to change the location of the shared folder,
    not the type of sync. See picture SecondarySync.png attached.

  4. 4 Posted by tan.k.h on 29 May, 2022 05:56 PM

    tan.k.h's Avatar

    Sorry I saw dwg's reply and replied before seeing Stuart's reply.

    From Stuart's reply, once I use the toolbox Force Reset on the primary, I can install the same toolbox on the Secondary, and there should be a toolbox Advanced option to 'promote secondary dataset to primary'?

    On my primary, the toolbox has an option to 'demote primary dataset to secondary node'. So I presume if I install the toolbox on my secondary, I will see the opposite 'promote secondary dataset to primary mode'?

    Would that be correct?

  5. 5 Posted by Stuart Beesley ... on 29 May, 2022 08:18 PM

    Stuart Beesley (Mr Toolbox)'s Avatar

    Run toolbox force reset sync settings on BOTH datasets.
    Run toolbox promote to primary on the secondary. The old primary can stay as a primary too as you want both to be stand alone.

  6. 6 Posted by tan.k.h on 30 May, 2022 03:04 AM

    tan.k.h's Avatar

    Thanks dwg and Stuart for your fast responses and advice. I've managed to reset my secondary, and start using it as a primary without problems.

    I have to give up syncing because while it is very good when things worked with me and my wife entering data into each file, when the sync fails, there is no good indication. By the time I detected the problem, I now had two files with partially good information in each file. That is hard to get right manually and I don't think I want to go through that again.
    Cool that the MD Toolkit exists and makes the resetting a lot easier, and safer!
    It is OK to close this ticket then.

  7. Maddy closed this discussion on 30 May, 2022 01:37 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac