Problem confirming transactions on Mac

Bruce's Avatar

Bruce

28 Nov, 2022 05:11 PM

I've had a sporadic issue of having transaction descriptions being changed or the transaction completely deleted when using the Command-Return key combo to confirm transactions on Mac. I'm on version 2022.5 but I believe this was also happening on the previous version.

Only happens when using the key combo -- clicking on "Confirm" seems to work consistently.

  1. 1 Posted by davidmbrown on 20 Dec, 2022 04:29 PM

    davidmbrown's Avatar

    I, too, have seen this happen. It is repeatable with MoneyDance 2022.5 4091 and macOS 13.1.

  2. Support Staff 2 Posted by Maddy on 21 Dec, 2022 03:12 PM

    Maddy's Avatar

    Hi,
    We are sorry to hear about the problem you have encountered.

    It is my understanding that if you try to change the memo or category BEFORE you confirm a transaction, then it (the change) gets overwritten once you confirm that transaction.
    If you are not merging a transaction, you should hit confirm or CMD-enter and then edit memo or the transaction.This will keep the change.

    I hope this information is helpful. Please let us know if you have further questions or need more assistance.

    --
    Maddy, Infinite Kind Support

  3. 3 Posted by Bruce on 28 Dec, 2022 01:05 AM

    Bruce's Avatar

    Hi Maddy, thank you for your response.

    If I'm remembering correctly, I wasn't seeing the descriptions reverting back to what they were before a change. They were being changed to something completely unrelated.

    And -- worse than that -- I'm occasionally seeing transactions complete deleted. Until I was specifically watching for this I'd finish confirming everything, try to balance the statement and it wouldn't add up, because transactions were missing.

  4. 4 Posted by sth on 28 Dec, 2022 08:28 PM

    sth's Avatar

    There are usually several options where a transaction will either be automatically filled in, linked to an unconfirmed transaction that was entered, or merged with previous confirmed transaction.

    This last option is usually the appearance of "completely deleted"

    All these options are listed in the right hand menu when you have selected an unconfirmed transaction. The program will use the one that is highlighted by a grey bar. Since that is usually not the transaction I wish for, I usually just click on the option I want.
    (NOT IK support)

  5. 5 Posted by Bruce on 28 Dec, 2022 08:55 PM

    Bruce's Avatar

    Thanks sth! I'll pay more attention to what's highlighted in the right pane next time.

  6. 6 Posted by george.dobbs on 28 Dec, 2022 09:12 PM

    george.dobbs's Avatar

    I've had similar problems. I'll watch carefully to see if I can detect when it happens.

  7. 7 Posted by davidmbrown on 18 Jan, 2023 06:57 PM

    davidmbrown's Avatar

    Maddy: Please excuse the delay getting back to you. Confirming a transaction before making any changes does solve the problem described in the first post. While that works, it seems to defeat the purpose of confirming and, therefore, adds an otherwise unnecessary step. Also, confirming with command-return brings about another bug wherein the data from a prior split transaction is entered into the transaction being confirmed.
    The result is that working with MoneyDance+ transactions require careful monitoring that should not be necessary.

  8. 8 Posted by sth on 18 Jan, 2023 07:51 PM

    sth's Avatar

    @davidmbrown, Make the changes to the item in the right hand column that you are confirming not the register which you may be requesting to be overwritten by data you are confirming. (Not IK Support)

  9. 9 Posted by Bruce on 28 Jan, 2023 07:49 PM

    Bruce's Avatar

    « All these options are listed in the right hand menu when you have selected an unconfirmed transaction. The program will use the one that is highlighted by a grey bar. »

    Okay, having just balanced another statement, I can confirm this was my problem -- a "merge option" was highlighted in the right pane instead of "current transaction".

    Is there a way to turn this off? I never have duplicate transactions and never need to merge any. And the merge options, when they appear, are often wildly incorrect with different payees and dates.

    Or we want to continue to present merge options -- why default to the first one instead of "current transaction"? The app is so confident here where, as I said above, the suggested merge option is so completely different.

  10. 10 Posted by sth on 28 Jan, 2023 11:20 PM

    sth's Avatar

    Not sure. The program has presented several possibilities of merging and seems to not be chosing the most likely one. That is a question to pose to the developer.

  11. Support Staff 11 Posted by Sean Reilly on 29 Jan, 2023 10:52 PM

    Sean Reilly's Avatar

    Hi Bruce and sth,

    This is a great question! The "current" option is shown because the description and/or memo differ from what was originally downloaded for that transaction. When such a transaction is selected, it goes through the same matching algorithm and it is possible that there are some "Similar Transactions" that have a higher score than the changed transaction. My original thinking was that it's possible that a "cleaned up" description was applied automatically upon download, but it might not be the best option at the current point in time, after moneydance has had a chance to learn about more recently confirmed and cleaned-up transactions.

    The situation I was thinking of above is probably very unlikely, so I should probably boost the matching score for any edited transactions when it comes to setting the default option. Thank you for bringing it to my attention!

    Thanks,
    Sean

    --
    Sean Reilly
    Developer, The Infinite Kind
    https://infinitekind.com

  12. 12 Posted by Bruce on 30 Jan, 2023 12:36 AM

    Bruce's Avatar

    Thanks Sean!

  13. 13 Posted by Stuart Beesley ... on 30 Jan, 2023 03:48 PM

    Stuart Beesley (Mr Toolbox)'s Avatar

    @Sean, that's a +1 vote from me too... I often edit the category and then just press CMD-ENTER to confirm, but it seems to do a MERGE instead which is not what I want... So if I have manually edited Memo and Category, then I want CMD-ENTER to accept what I have done.... ??

  14. System closed this discussion on 01 May, 2023 03:50 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac