Confirm/Merge improvements

Dan Muller's Avatar

Dan Muller

24 Mar, 2021 09:52 PM

I have just been working on a large backlog of transactions, many of them very similar.

While working in the Unconfirmed tab, it's not easy to predict when merge suggestions will be offered, and the merge suggestions look incredibly similar to the Similar Payees suggestions. Several times, I accidentally merged downloaded transactions that were a few days apart but otherwise identical. Not only does this cause extra work during reconciliation (and bad reconciliation if your settings clear transactions when confirmed), but it also loses the properties of one of the downloaded transactions.

Suggestions:

  1. Make suggested merges more visually distinct, or placed differently, than suggested similar payees.

  2. Allow merges to be UNDONE! Please!

  3. IIUC, downloaded transactions should have ids that distinguish them even if they are otherwise very similar. If those ids differ, please don't suggest a merge!

  4. For cases where the user knows that two unique downloaded transactions really should be merged, provide some form of manual merge in the register view -- let me select two similar transactions and explicitly merge them, possibly with a warning dialog if they have distinct download ids.

  1. 1 Posted by jimh on 16 May, 2021 06:59 PM

    jimh's Avatar

    Agree!

  2. 2 Posted by Glenn Mair on 03 Aug, 2021 06:52 PM

    Glenn Mair's Avatar

    I find Merge to be a great feature - but the issue I have is that recently it is suddenly offering transactions to merge with that are many months old and already cleared. Previously, it would only offer to Merge if transactions were within about a week of each other. This makes the reconciliation process much slower - having to be much more careful looking at Merge options. Hopefully MD can revert to the former narrow date range for Merge options.

  3. 3 Posted by Stuart Beesley ... on 03 Aug, 2021 06:55 PM

    Stuart Beesley - JUST A FELLOW USER and Toolbox ‘guy’'s Avatar

    There’s an option in preferences to set the merge window number of days. I use 5 days.

    (Not support, just a fellow user)

  4. 4 Posted by Glenn Mair on 03 Aug, 2021 07:31 PM

    Glenn Mair's Avatar

    Stuart, is it on the General tab in Preferences? Because I'm looking there and not seeing the option (even though I thought such an option did exist). I also checked screenshots I did of the Preferences tabs when I first configured MD and don't see any option there. Which version are you running? I'm 2017.7.1. Thanks!

  5. 5 Posted by -Kevin N. on 03 Aug, 2021 08:18 PM

    -Kevin N.'s Avatar

    Hi Glenn,

    The setting is at the bottom of the 'Network' tab in 'Preferences'.

    -Kevin N. (not a member of MD support)

  6. 6 Posted by Stuart Beesley ... on 03 Aug, 2021 08:27 PM

    Stuart Beesley - JUST A FELLOW USER and Toolbox ‘guy’'s Avatar

    What Kevin said … from memory…. Network.

  7. 7 Posted by Glenn Mair on 03 Aug, 2021 08:51 PM

    Glenn Mair's Avatar

    Thanks Kevin & Stuart - not so intuitive being under Network but now I see it there. I must have had a minor update or something automated that changed it from 5 days back to Default. Now set back to 5 Days and all is good. Thanks!!

  8. Maddy closed this discussion on 04 Aug, 2021 09:28 AM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac