Syncing with Other Computers

If you are running Moneydance 2019 or a newer version you can sync your files seamlessly and efficiently across computers and mobile devices using our fully encrypted internal syncing engine.

Moneydance can now use any shared folder (such as Dropbox) to quickly sync your financial data conflict-free, using end-to-end encryption to maintain your privacy.

IMPORTANT -

Before syncing, you must ensure you're running the same version of Moneydance on all computers.
You can check the version and build number by navigating to Help > About Moneydance.
(on a Mac, choose Moneydance > About Moneydance).
 

Before you set up syncing, you must ensure the .moneydance data files you'd like to share are not already located in any shared folder like Dropbox, OneDrive, iCloud etc. If your data file is stored in (or being accessed/backed up by) any shared folder service, this can lead to problems like data corruption and data loss. If your file is shared, you must move the file onto your local system before proceeding.
 

You should not rely solely on syncing to back up your data.
We always recommend backing up your main data set regularly, and with whatever backup method you use to protect your financial information. Automatic backups can be enabled within Preferences > Backups, and manual backups can be created using File > Export Backup.

Enable Syncing -

Open Moneydance to view the file you'd like to share, and navigate to File > Syncing.
Then pick a sync method. You can choose from the options below -
 

Dropbox Folder
Sync using the Dropbox folder on this computer. This will allow Moneydance to process synced data even if you're not connected to the Internet at the time.
This option will only be available if you have the Dropbox client installed on your computer (in the default location).

Dropbox Connection
Sync by connecting to your Dropbox account. Moneydance will communicate with the Dropbox service if you authorise it to access your files.
You will be redirected to the Dropbox website where you'll be given an authorisation code that you should enter into Moneydance.

iCloud Drive
This sync method is specifically designed for syncing between Apple devices, and it can only be used with one iCloud account at a time.
This sync option is available in Moneydance 2022 and newer versions.

Shared Folder
Sync using a folder that you specify that is shared across computers.
You should NOT choose this sync method if you also want to sync with mobile devices.
 


 

If you wish to share your data with the mobile app in addition to other computers, you must choose Dropbox Folder, Dropbox Connection or iCloud Drive as the sync method.
 

If you purchased Moneydance from the Mac App Store, you must choose 'Dropbox Connection' or 'iCloud Drive' (iCloud Drive should only be used if you're syncing with other Apple devices).
 

You'll then be prompted to create an Encryption Password if you haven't already.
The encryption password should be a unique password and something you choose. It is not your Dropbox account password, and should not be the same as any other password for your own security.

Retrieve Sync Data -

On your other computer or laptop, you should open Moneydance and navigate to File > New
If you're viewing the Welcome to Moneydance window, select "Create New Account Set".

Then select "Open Synced File" and select the same sync method as the first system.
 


 

You'll then be shown a list of any data files that are available for syncing.
Select the data file you want to access and enter the encryption passphrase.

The "Finish" button will be greyed out and cannot be selected until the correct password has been entered.

It may take a moment for the file to initially sync after completing the last step of the sync setup process. Please wait for the syncing to complete and do not close or force quit the program.
 

How Syncing Works -

By following these steps, each computer will have its own copy of your .moneydance data file, and also separate .moneydancearchive backup files (all stored locally).

Any changes are shared with the other computer(s) using the sync files within the shared folder you picked.

If you enter a test transaction on either computer, you'll see it appear on the other after a few moments.
 

Preferences and Passwords -

When you sync the file between systems in this way - the Master Password on the original system will not be transferred. The password that you set to open your data file is a password just for the specific computer or mobile device. The passwords cannot be transferred as it's a matter of local security on each system. If you want to use a password, you’ll need to set this up for each system you’re syncing with via File > Passwords.
 

The preference settings won't be transferred to your new system - this is by design. You will need to configure your preferences on the systems you are syncing with. You may wish to refer to the Preferences articles for more information.

For example - Two members of a household share a data file, but have different computers. Each has their own preferences related to theme, font size etc. If the preferences were synced, each computer would be forced to use the same preferences, not what the individual user needed.

Recent Discussions

14 Jul, 2024 11:01 PM
14 Jul, 2024 10:58 PM
14 Jul, 2024 10:32 PM
14 Jul, 2024 10:28 PM
14 Jul, 2024 09:49 PM